Spirit of the Northern Sky (CD)

Released in 2013 on REL Records, this was the SFO’s first studio recording since the death of its founder and original musical director, John Mason. Comprised entirely of instrumental pieces, the album title alludes to Northern Scotland, including places such as Orkney (John Mason’s birthplace) and the evocative Bowfiddle Rock (pictured on the album sleeve) on the Moray coast.

Fittingly, the album opens with a March, Strathspey and Reel composed by the SFO’s Leader and President, Bill Cook, in memory of John Mason – Tribute to the Maestro.

The price of the CD is £12, and postage and packing is £2 in addition.

Track listing

  1. Tribute To The Maestro: March (John M Mason) / Strathspey (27 Victoria Drive) / Reel (The Click)
  2. Jigs: Burnin’ Bracken / The Dufftown Rally / The Angel’s Share / The Trip to Kelso
  3. March: Willie Kidd’s Welcome to Orkney
  4. Polka: The Fairy Nuff
  5. Pipe Marches: Here’s to the Pipes / My Home / The Barren Rocks of Aden / Bonnie Dundee / The Black Bear
  6. Reels: Shiftin’ Bobbins / Elegant Esther Gray / Highland Lassie / Ellenbrook
  7. The Huntsman’s Jigs: Caroline Lambie / Foremannoch / Queen’s Pudding for the Teacher / La Belle Danseuse
  8. The Circassian Circle: Original / The Drapperaff Hornpipe / Storer’s Hornpipe / Threave Cottage
  9. Highland Barn Dance: Lord MacDonald of MacDonald (Kinloch Lodge) / Captain Horne
  10. The Sleeping Warrior
  11. Reels: Tapping Toes / Evelyn’s Reel / The Road to Kettle / The Best O’ Twa
  12. Two Step: The Lord Lieutenant
  13. Polka: The Furry Boots
  14. Reel: The Deil’s Fiddle
  15. The Rose of Galloway
  16. Hornpipes: The Handsome Ploughboy / The Chester / The Steam Boat / A Traditional Hornpipe / Miss Gayton’s
  17. Reels: The Black Dance / Glen Buchat Lodge / Miss Forbes Farewell to Banff / Cairney Mount
  18. Jigs from the Gow Collections: Grace Hay’s Delight / Drummond Castle / Peggy’s Wedding / Bung Your Eye / Money in Both Pockets
  19. MacPherson’s Farewell